Kaleidoscope

McCall’s 5050

Posted on: Domingo 27 septiembre 2009

It all started with a very good friend of mine who is pregnant with her second child. Unfortunately she lives in Manitoba (24 hours drive from here, I checked with Google), but thanks to the Amazing Skype we chat quite often while having a cup of tea, looking at each other through the webcam. We even show each other our new clothes and discuss endlessly about everything, life, death & spirituality.

She asked me if I could sew her a maternity top. It seems that she cannot find anything decent that fit her measurements in all the maternity stores or else it’s very expensive and not really what she has in mind. So we looked at the different sewing patterns online. I wanted to agree on a model that would fit a bit loose so that, knowing we wouldn’t be able to arrange any fitting, it wouldn’t show much if not perfect. Also, if I had to buy a new pattern, I wanted to like it enough to use it for myself too!😉

We agreed on this one:

She wanted a long sleeves one so I made model B, with a simple beige cotton stretch fabric, white ribbon and white simple fold bias tape to finish the hem at the bottom. Here is the result:

I am not too unsatisfied about it, though having seen it on her (once mailed and all) I realize that the waistline is way too low. With some things, measurements alone are not enough. *sigh*

On the other side, this was good practice for my top. Same pattern, model A, with a very light stretch cotton knit (end of summer sale -50%… Woohoo!). My changes: no ribbon around the neck line and no elastic to finish the short sleeves.
M5050A
I realize that the elastic on the waistline could be a little tighter, but overall I’m quite pleased with that one. I love the fabric!

4 comentarios to "McCall’s 5050"

Et on peut passer commande? J’aime beaucoup ce model, c’est exactement ce que je cherche🙂

Je penserais à toi quand j’aurais besoin d’un nouveau manequin!😉

super patron ! Je vais me le commander, je pense. C’est exactement le genre de top que j’ai en plein de versions et que j’aime porter… Le modèle B, avec les manches terminées par des élastiques, n’est pas mon préféré. J’aime mieux les manches “flare”. En tout cas, c’est super sympa, et les 2 que tu as faits sont vraiment bien !

En fait, moi non plus je n’aime pas trop avoir des élastiques autour des bras. C’est pour ça que je n’en ai pas mit pour mon modèle. Ma copine par contre voulait le modèle B… Les goûts ne se discutent pas!

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
