Kaleidoscope

Whirlwind

Posted on: Lunes 28 abril 2008

Once again we had a very busy week-end. It’s the last stretch  before taking off and I’m glad because when I’m tired I get depressed, and when I’m depressed I cry, and crying is tiring!🙄

On Saturday, with a friend who is a voice teacher too, we organized a recital for our students. We did it in the party room of her apartment building. She moved her digital piano downstairs all by herself (she is a strong cookie! eh eh), I typed the program, brought the balloons, and munchies for afterwards while she took care of the juices… I was so nervous the whole morning thinking about my students, hoping that they wouldn’t screw up too much. Every year is the same thing, I think to myself that the recital is “only for my students”, but at the end I feel judged by the parents too! If the kids make mistakes, I am the one being blamed for! Of course, this might only be in my head… Maybe not.

Now I’d like to complain some more. My students. Every year I have to tell them that it’s a recital. One should be kind of dressed up. No big deal, they are not attending a 4 stars evening in a luxurious hotel, but they are standing up in front of people and presenting themselves  and  their work! COME  ON. I am not a “clothes freak”, as far as I know, but there is a minimum of common sense. Don’t show up at your recital wearing sneakers and jeans as if you were going to a football game.

Another (talented) student “forgot” to bring her music (she hadn’t memorized it either). She ended up playing something else. 😯

Besides all of the above, everything went smoothly. I’m glad we do this once a year. Maybe if we would do it more often, I wouldn’t freak out as much? (Yeah right).😀

While I was dying from second hand stress, D was helping some friends to move (together with some other friends from the seminary). When all was done, I joined them for a BBQ. The weather was nice but very windy and it was getting cold towards the end.

Then Sunday was the retirement service for our pastor who has served in the ministry for 40 years! We attended the regular Sunday morning service, then the “special” service in the afternoon…

Needless to say that I haven’t had time to rest much…

4 comentarios to "Whirlwind"

Can we hear you sing one of those days ?🙂

… I have to figure out a way to record myself… The demo CDs I have are “old”…

Ah lala ! J’ai fait ça 1 seule et unique fois: je donnais des cours de théâtre à des ados, et il était impensable de ne pas présenter un “spectacle” en fin d’année, pour les parents. J’ai failli les massacrer 20 fois, les jeunes, tellement ils n’en avaient rien à faire…

Je me plein pas de la qualité de leur travail, un récital ça les motive, au moins, à travailler un peu plus… Mais on dirait qu’ils ne réalisent pas que l’apparence (comment ils s’habillent) c’est aussi important quand ils se présentent en public.🙄

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
