Kaleidoscope

Advent 1

Posted on: Lunes 3 diciembre 2007

Advent, the season of preparation for Christmas, started yesterday. Ironically Christmas decoration has been up since 2 weeks at work, and we sent the cards last week… I’ve been laughed at (again) when I said that the Christmas season is actually 2 weeks long, from December 24 to January 6 (epiphany). Long enough, in my opinion, to enjoy the decorations. Most shops or places that hang decorations one month (or two) in advance, puts it down after boxing day! I don’t understand this!

For me advent is all about preparing. First, I choose the cards that I will send to family and friends. I try to keep my list to no more than 20 people every year (no more, otherwise I would get grumpy). I take my time writing them. No decorations yet, but I get everything together. And there is the endless party filled weeks… Yesterday we had the first advent service at church in the morning, the advent service at the seminary in the evening, tonight we go to the “Christmas social” at church, tomorrow evening there is the gift exchange and “Christmas supper” with my co-workers at a restaurant.

Note that this is only the beginning.

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
