Kaleidoscope

Clafoutis

Posted on: Martes 17 julio 2007

I’ve prepared this recipe during the week-end for our weekly Bible study, slash barbecue, slash get-together that we have with some friends. It’s very simple, tasty, and curiously not too heavy in the stomach!

Since it’s a French recipe, allow me to translate it for you!🙂

Ingrédients
Ingredients (huhu that was easy!)

– 500g de cerises noires dénoyautées, ou abricots, ou pruneaux / 500g of fruits (cherries, apricots, or plums, or any other fruit of the season)
– 100g de farine tout usage (je fais toujours moitié farine, moitié maïzena) / 100g of all purpose flour (I always mix half flour, half corn starch)
– 100g de sucre / 100g of sugar
– une pincée de sel / a “pinch” of salt (I’m not sure if there is such a term in English)
– 500ml de lait / about 2 cups of milk
– 4 oeufs / 4 eggs
– un verre à liqueur de rhum, kirch, ou cognac / a small liquor glass of rhum, kirch, or cognac

*Note* Si vous utilisez des fruits secs, tels qu’abricots ou pruneaux, laissez tremper quelques heures dans de l’eau chaude avec le verre de rhum. If using dried fruits (apricots or prunes), let them rest for a couple of hours in warm water and the glass of liquor.

Mélangez d’abord les ingrédients secs, puis les autres, jusqu’à obtenir une pâte homogène (aussi liquide que la pâte à crèpes). Dans un moule à tarte beurré et fariné, déposer les fruits, puis arroser de la pâte. Cuire environs une heure au four à 180°C (Th.6).

First mix the dried ingredients (flour, sugar), then the others until obtaining a liquid batter. Butter and flour a tart mold, dispose the fruits, pour the batter on top. Bake about one hour at 350°F.

Mmmmh!

Clafoutis aux poires (with pears)

5 comentarios to "Clafoutis"

It looks wonderful, but I suck at metric measurements. I don’t suppose you’d want to translate the grams to cups, would you?

I’ve looked for a table of conversions online, but since grammes is the weight rather than volume (as in cups), I’m not sure it’ll work if you don’t have a kitchen scale… (Don’t you?)

Um, no. Hardly ANYBODY in America has a kitchen scale. I don’t even know where I would buy one at, and if I could find one it would be in ounces instead of grams. I’m going to Walmart today, so I guess I can check there.

Hmm… I found this “highly accurate” conversion calculator here: http://www.gourmetsleuth.com/cookingconversions.asp?Action=find

According to it, the recipe calls for about 3 cups of fruit, 1 cup of flour, and 1/2 cup of sugar. Does that seem proportionally correct?

Oh, and just so you know, I have lots of english cookbooks that call for a “pinch” of something, especially older ones.

Thanks for the link! The measures sound good to me, let me know once you’ve tried! I bought my kitchen scale here, in Canada, and it has the option of showing onces and/or grams.

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
