Kaleidoscope

Homemade Bread

Posted on: Domingo 18 febrero 2007

At work.
Me: I made my own bread.
Co-worker: You have a bread machine?
M: No, I had to knead it with my own hand. It was fun!
C-W: You are like a pioneer’s wife!

I’ll take it as a compliment.😀

I’ve wanted to make my own bread for a long time. Think about it: add whichever seeds and grains you want, bake it for as long as you want it, etc… But all the recipes I would read were sooo complicated “let sit for 1 hour/one day, then cover with a humid cloth, reserve, come back, aaargh!”. I couldn’t imagine myself watching the dough rise slowly, stay there forever to prepare an “almighty” bread. I had almost given up, until the day in September when I met my friend Tricia. She makes her delicious bread with this recipe that she got from her sister (she comes from a family of 10!) who got it from someone else… and gave it to me, and now allows me to share it with the whole world! Yeay! Viva internet!

medium_bread.2.jpg

This is my second batch. I’ve added flax seeds to the original oatmeal bread recipe.

Ingredients:
– 1T yeast
– 1t sugar
– 1/2 c. warm water
– 1 c. whole wheat flour
– 1 c. white flour (I prefer darker bread so I put 3 cups whole wheat and 3 cups white flour)
– 1 c. oatmeal
– 1 T salt (I put 2)
– 2 T butter
– 1/2 c. brown sugar
– 2 c. boiling water

*NOTE* T=Tablespoon, t=teaspoon

In a bowl, dissolve yeast and 1t sugar in 1/2 c. warm water; let sit.
In a separate large mixing bowl, put together the dry ingredients: flour, oatmeal, brown sugar (other seeds/grains if desired), salt. When the yeast is ready, add to the mixture with the butter and gradualy the hot water.
Knead about 10 minutes until the dough is risen (twice the size).I’m not sure I’ve got that yet.
Form 2 loaves, let raise until the dough reaches top of pans (30 minutes). Again, this must depend on the baking dish you have ‘cause my dough hasn’t reached that far.
Bake 30 to 40 minutes at 375 F. Remove from pan immediately to cool.
Freezes very well. Takes about 12 hours to thaw.

Mmmh!

3 comentarios to "Homemade Bread"

génial, une recette de pain sans besoin de machine à pain ! Youhou ! J’essaierai ça …
Dis, les degrés F, tu sais les transposer en thermostat ou degrés C ?

Je pense que c’est à peu près 180°C… Genre Thermostat 6-7? (la même température que pour cuire des gâteaux).

J’ai vérifié sur Marmiton🙂

Looks and sounds great! Congrats!

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
