Kaleidoscope

Barcelona – Mercury & Caballé

Posted on: Domingo 4 junio 2006

There is something I couldn’t understand. Many sources say that Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Caballé sang this duet for the opening of the Olympic Games in Barcelona. Yet the Olympic Games in Barcelona were in 1992, and Mercury died of aids the year before. I remember watching it on TV from France as the hymn for the olympic games so long ago…

I finally found the answer to my questioning there.

I had this perfect dream
Un sueño me envolvió
This dream was me and you
Tal vez estás aquí
I want all the world to see
Un instinto me guiaba
A miracle sensation
My guide and inspiration
Now my dream is slowly coming true

The wind is a gentle breeze
El me habló de ti
The bells are ringing out
El canto vuela
They’re calling us together
Guiding us forever
Wish my dream would never go away

¡Barcelona!
It was the first time that we met
¡Barcelona!
How can I forget the moment
That you stepped into the room
You took my breath away

¡Barcelona! La musica vibró
¡Barcelona! Y ella nos unió
And if God is willing, we will meet again someday

Let the songs begin
Déjalo nacer
Let the music play

Ahhhhhhh…

Make the voices sing
Nace un gran amor
Start the celebration
Ven a mi
And cry!
¡Grita!
Come alive
¡Viva!
And shake the foundations from the skies
Shaking all our lives

¡Barcelona! Such a beautiful horizon
¡Barcelona! Like a jewel in the sun
Por ti seré gaviota de tu bella mar

¡Barcelona! Sueñan las campanas
¡Barcelona! Abre tus puertas al mundo
If God is willing, if God is willing, if God is willing
Friends until the end

¡Viva Barcelona!

I have a friend who lives in Barcelona and keeps asking me (us) to go live there. I met her when we were both working as Au-pair Mädchen (girls) in Bad-Schwartau, Germany. She is from Perú, thus speaks Spanish, and since she couldn’t speak German and only a very basic English (but very funny, with a lot of physical expression)… I was her translator when we were visiting Lübeck, going to church or doing shopping. It was fun, and a good experience to practice my translation skills from Spanish to German… (never thought I could use both simultaneously!).

D and I have learned from another source that Spain is at the moment the country in Western Europe which accepts most immigrants. I wonder why. But from my visit, many years ago, I can tell that it must be a very nice city to live in: nice weather, palm trees, many cultural activities (museums, Palao de la Música), Spanish way of life (wake up late, eat late, go to bed late), plus you are in front of the Mediterranean see! Ahhh…

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
