Kaleidoscope

back again

Posted on: Domingo 18 diciembre 2005

Back to the English language!

This week end was a busy one. As usual we spent Saturday doing some shopping, since it’s the only day of the week when we can be both in the car at the same time to go somewhere else than home or one of the jobs.

At 7 pm we where invited to the prayers meeting for missions at the Ws house. I like to pray in group, it gives more direction to the requests, even if I (like anyone else) might sometimes say things to God that are not necessary. He knows what we need more than ourselves. For example, sometimes it’s not a good thing to ask for less suffering, because it is through trials that we become stronger in faith. D likes to say: What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.

Just before living home for the prayer meeting, my mum called from BA to tell me that her offer for the apartment has been accepted. She should sign the contract sometime this week, and then tell everyone her new address and phone in Argentina! I’m excited for her, especially that at her age living with her mum is not so cool… What makes me uneasy is when she asks me if D and I are going to visit her. Unfortunately, my mum only sees her side of the question. I tell her we don’t have money, and frankly, if we had, Argentina is not the first destination in our list. Sad, but I don’t even know the mum and brother-in-law yet, and I’ve never been to Brazil. On the other hand D is also curious to discover Europe, and I understand that too.

Tonight was the Christmas concert for one of the schools where I teach. John-the-boss asked me to do a solo that I’ve somehow managed to prepare in a month in between jobs and missing students… “But Who May Abide The Day Of His Coming?” is an aria from the Messiah (by Handel), sometimes sang by the bass, sometime by the alto. The Messiah is a great work, and one that I would have liked to sing professionally, but sadly I find that sacred works that are sang by unbelievers loose their meaning.

“But who may abide the day of his coming? and who shall stand when he appeareth? for he is like a refiner’s fire” Malachi 3:2

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
