Kaleidoscope

Christian Martyrs

Posted on: Lunes 12 diciembre 2005

A couple of Sundays ago (last month?) was the international day of prayer for the persecuted Church. The teacher we had at the bible study in church, is the professor who taught Hebrew to D. His wife and himself invited us to join a prayer meeting they organize in their home once a month. But only D has been able to make it a couple of times, so far I’ve been working Friday evenings.

I just finished reading Safely Home by Randy Alcorn. It’s a novel about the persecution of Christians in China. Today still there are thousands of Christian martyrs in the world, this in not only in history books and movies. It’s happening now: in India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, China, people get killed because they believe that Jesus is the Christ and the Savior of all men, they get shot because going to church is illegal, they get arrested because they own a Bible.

How mad I get when I look at our life in North America (or in any rich country), where religion is often considered a mere entertainment, or a part of the cultural heritage of the country. Some people go to church by habit, tradition, but the most important thing is not there, or hiding, or sleeping: faith. Do you go to church to give thanks to your Creator who died on the cross for you?

When I put things in perspective, I am ashamed of asking God to help me in the little things of my life. I am so grateful for the love of my husband, and the life of ministry He is preparing us for. But at the same time, I am wondering if I am worthy to serve Him, will I be ready? Where to go? What to do? What to say?

In some countries believers are dying because they go to church, in other countries they are finding (fake) excuses to skip a Sunday service!😐

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
