Kaleidoscope

Apartment

Posted on: Sábado 18 junio 2005

a·part·ment n. A room or suite of rooms designed as a residence and generally located in a building occupied by more than one household.
[French appartement, from Italian appartamento, from appartare= to separate, from a parte= apart (from Latin ad-. See ad-)= parte, side (from Latin pars, part-. ).]

I had to check the spelling in dictionary.com because I never knew, before today, when I have to spell it with one p and when is it double p… Anyway now I know and it does suddenly make sense that an apartment is to put aside, apart.

Ok, so for the news, I was busy this week because apart (see how often I can use this new word now) from working as usual, I was looking for a place to live. I’m fed up, fed up, fed up, to bike so much everyday to go to and from work, to carry the bike upstairs everyday (2 floors)… In all, I can’t wait to be moving in a better place, closer to my jobs. Saturday is usually the day when D and I are taking a beak from pedaling, but today we had appointments to visit 3 different apartments. *sigh* There is one we both liked, I just hope nothing will come in between us and the landlord, because I really, really, really would like to move there as soon as possible! Pray for us.

And to finish for today’s post, what am I listening to? Radio Italia.

The web is magic!

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
