Kaleidoscope

Phone call

Posted on: Lunes 30 mayo 2005


A few days ago I bought a CD called “Stevie Wonder, the ultimate collection“, or something like that. He’s the guy who use to sing You Are The Sunshine Of My Life, and I Just Called To Say I Love You back in the early 80’s… Great songs to get into a good mood, sunshine!, I sing them in the morning, thinking of my husband, and it’s just great.

Anyhow, today I called a very good, French, friend. Her name is Magali. Mag and I were good friends during the 2 or 3 last years when I was in France, in our teenage years, but we also have a history of visiting each other across the Atlantic: she spent a month in Montreal one summer, and I joined her for 10 days in Italy. All this to say that we obviously don’t see each other very often, but when we do, or when we talk to each other on the phone, our friendship is very alive! I bought a $5 dollars card to phone her, it allows me something like 300 minutes (!). and we spent it all!! Amazing. I usually don’t like the phone, but for this quality time, it IS worth it! I’m not a big talker either, but between us it seems we always have things to say: my darling, our studies, job, friends, families…
After this, it’s like writing on my journal or blogging, I felt better. Therapeutic, I’m telling you.

Unfortunately, the instant I hung up the phone, it rang again and it was my mum who told me bullshit about what D had to do (car things, again) which I don’t understand, and don’t care anything about. Then she went on about me waisting my life in this town, not liking the idea of D becoming a pastor, not liking him for being too honest about telling them he wouldn’t like to live either in Brazil, Italy or Germany. etc… (They have never ever settled down in any country of the world!). She made me upset and cry.

I cannot understand how a parent wouldn’t be glad to see her daughter happily married… My dad is like that too, both don’t want to accept that I’ve been married for almost 2 years now, and that my life might be, indeed, different from theirs or what they would have liked it to be! I am not, and have never been a toy, a puppet, that you tell what to do, how to do it, how to think (like them). Unfortunately, they still try to have control over me, and even trying to put D in the basket! No way.
I’m mad at myself because I’m too nice and sympathetic. I should learn to hung up on my mum.

3 comentarios to "Phone call"

I’ve hung up on my mom before… we used to have a really hard time, and one day she really offended me, and I just hung up. She called back, but I was so mad– I hope your parents eventually come around and accept that you are living the life you want to live. That, to me, would be the best thing for a parent to know, but then again, I’ve never been one, so maybe I just don’t know.

I don’t know you very well or anything, but you are right. I see absolutely NO reason for your mother not to be supportive. Life is all about choice and ESPECIALLY if it is to do the Lord’s work, how can it be anything but a GOOD thing?

Confusing times, I say.

Live life as you see fit, nobody should make you cry (unless it is out of happiness).

Sorry to hear about that.
I suppose all parents want to see their daughter live well and in abundance.
But you have an abundant life, yeah? Because pastors are God’s beloved and their inheritance is the Lord.

Responder

De todo un poco

expatriate blog-of-the-month-september.png
